Words I Love 009 – Elegiac

Another word in my series ‘Words I Love’. Today it’s ‘elegiac’, which I’ve recently used to describe a lily I photographed for my blog, ‘My Daily Snap’.

low-life NO

‘Elegia’ is also a piece of music by Manchester band New Order, from their ‘Low-Life’ album. A beautiful instrumental that I can imagine playing alongside this image if it was hanging in an exhibition.

elegiac
/ˌɛlɪˈdʒʌɪək/

adjective: elegiac

1.

relating to or characteristic of an elegy.
“haunting and elegiac poems”

•wistfully mournful.
“she watched repeat serials, fixed on their moody and elegiac characterization”

synonyms: mournful, melancholic, melancholy, plaintive, sorrowful, sad, lamenting, doleful; More
funereal, dirgelike;

touching, moving, poignant;

literarydolorous;

rarethrenodic, threnodial

“a movingly elegiac piece for small orchestra”

antonyms: cheerful

noun

plural noun: elegiacs; plural noun: elegiac

1.

verses in an elegiac metre.

About themanofletters

Love poetry, love Marmite, Alright?
This entry was posted in Music, MyDailyBlog, Words I Love and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Words I Love 009 – Elegiac

  1. Pingback: V2 Photo 58 Lilies 08 | Today's photo

Leave a Reply

