‘Johnny Clarke’s Party’ (revised)

I’ve re-blogged this poem as it ties in nicely with a new piece on my Man Of Letters blog: https://themanofletters.wordpress.com/2014/09/06/musical-diary-002-the-monochrome-set/

Today's Poem

I’ve just revised/re-drafted this poetic tribute to John Cooper Clarke. The final verse has changed, giving it more edge and the previous final verse dropped as it seemed a bit twee! I was never quite satisfied with the earlier draft, which was completed under time constraints for NaPoWriMo 2014’s final day. Sometimes it is better to let the words settle, like building house – you want it built on solid foundations.

What do you think?

426566_1_redcar-rocks-presents-john-cooper-clarke_400

Johnny Clarke’s Party

John Cooper Clarke’s having a party
I know it must be true
I saw it in the NME
And this week’s ‘Sniffin’ Glue’
“I’ve got all your records mate
Read all your poems too
Stay up listening when it’s late
Like all your real fans do”

JCC’s having a party
At least that’s what I’ve heard
I’m hoping for an invite
I know that’s quite absurd
I’ll take along a…

View original post 273 more words

About themanofletters

Love poetry, love Marmite, Alright?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

