‘Burning Down The House’…

BDTH T Heads

 

NEW POEM ‘Speaking In Tongues’

I was sorting through my poetry notebooks, files and scraps of paper and cleaning up my filing system on my laptop over the long weekend – spring-cleaning the mind you might say. The plan being to pull everything together into a more cohesive whole. While trawling I found quite a lot of rough drafts and works in progress that I am going to work on next month. I also found a couple of complete poems I had forgotten I’d written back in 2010. The one below needed a little polishing and a few amendments but is largely unchanged. It was inspired by the Talking Heads album ‘Speaking In Tongues’. Well the album title was the springboard or catalyst for the poem at any rate. Somewhere to start the journey…

 

220px-Talking_Heads_-_Speaking_in_Tongues

Speaking In Tongues

My tongue speaks no lies

I love that fire in your eyes
When I am between your thighs

As it tries to surprise
My tongue speaks no lies

The air filled with your sighs
Your body on the rise

A word to the wise
My tongue speaks no lies

Reaching passion’s prize
Amid your muted cries

With silent replies
My tongue speaks no lies

As the flame dies
And your tear dries

Realise
My tongue speaks no lies

© Nick Ritchie 2014

If you like this poem and want to continue the journey check out my poetry blog here

About themanofletters

Love poetry, love Marmite, Alright?
This entry was posted in Music, Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

