My Top 10 Poems (NaPoWriMo 2014)

At the end of April we saw the conclusion of NaPoWriMo 2014, the climax of another year of this annual poetry challenge….so what now?
Well I thought a Top 10 might be in order; my ten favourite poems that I submitted for this year’s challenge and published on my poetry blog ‘Today’s Poem’:

(the photograph is just one of many that appears on my photo blog ‘My Daily Snap’)

My Top 10 poems for NaPoWriMo 2014

10= D-Day (6 June 1944)
10= Random Word I
09. Walk Away
08. Halloween
07. Listening To Eels
06. Pylons II
05. Footfall I
04. Two Minutes
03. Johnny Clarke’s Party
02. Sheltering Sky

And my personal favourite is…

01. Weathered Hands

Photo 209 Hands 6 Sculpture in the Sanctuary 2011 068 edit crop 50%

Weathered hands,
Clasped,
Cracked by time,
Water seeping,
Creeping,
Along finely formed
Fault lines,
Damp,
Darkened wood,
Worked,
Roughly hewn,
Textured,
Turned,
Broken bark strewn,
On nature’s bed,
Green grass grown,
Brown leaves shed,
Soft seeds sewn,
On moist moss floor,
Weathered hands,
Tethered,
Fixed firmly
To this northern moor.

Poems © Nick Ritchie 2014
Photo © Nick Ritchie Photography 2014

About themanofletters

Love poetry, love Marmite, Alright?
This entry was posted in MyDailyBlog, Poems, Top 10s and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

